Gretsch G5420T Electromatic, Set Up & Review


The Gretsch Electromatic G5420T an independant review

I’d set my little heart on looking the part, I had the wrap round shades, the 50s style shirts, now all I needed to complete the look was the right guitar..! Well not quite, even if there are some half-truths in there.

I have a nice 80’s JV series Japanese Telecaster, a 50s repro/re-edition.. whatever, that plays great, but a little too bright and snatchy and without the overtones of a hollow body, no trem, and it’s never going to flat pick or finger pick like an acoustic/6 string.

So I went in search of an affordable, okay build quality, name guitar with the right sound for 40s and 50s R&B and Rock N’ Roll / Rockabilly. On reading a few online reviews (though ones not published by Gretsch are hard to find; actually some of the best are on their own website forum) I came to settle on the G5420T in Aspen Green, a beautiful colour.

next.. price research..

0211I searched hi and lo in the UK and abroad for the best deal and it became quite obvious early on that Gretsch (owned by Fender) fix their prices fairly hard, and balancing the import tax on buying from the States, or the price from Germany (Thomann) or finding one in the UK, an average lower end price of £632 seemed reasonable if you wanted to find somewhere close enough you could return the guitar or walk in with it unhappy (for what reason I don’t know/yet know) at a later date. I came to rest on my local city Brighton’s GAK centre just off the North Laines. I phoned them to get the one Aspen Green G5420T they had out of the warehouse and to the shop and they were most helpful. And I arrived early on a Saturday morning to check it out.

I wanted to try it out with a heavier gauge string set on it, but they come from the factory with 10s on and they don’t re-string. Quite possibly because stringing it for a floating bridge un-initiate is a pain in the arse, but more of that later. Obligingly they provided a Blues Junior for me to play with (that’s the amp I use at home) and off I went noodling. My friend Des Day of Des Day promotional associated plc ltd. arrived to help me sort out the amp sound and give sage advice and off I went. BUT… it was no good, I just didn’t like the guitar, it felt all yuck.. no good at all. I could have wept,,.. oh well.

Classic Orange

Rowan, the very helpful shop assistant with side-show Bob curls and a jaunty salesman’s pitch suggested I tried the Orange version of the model hanging in the store. This was more like it, a joy to play, and someone had done a bit to set it up in store. It needed some work to get it set right but… hmmmm, thinking about it now, starting respond, good, getting in gear.. lovely but… not sure…

Des suggests market research..

With wads of cash burning a hole in my britches Des, and rightly so, decided I needed to try a few alternatives out and we left to check out a couple of second-hand places and other solid bodies. No good, the orange one was a callin’, eventually I went back and purchased.

SET UP

0161On return

Returning home, I decided to change the strings for the heavy gauge I had originally wanted to try the guitar out with, and put a set of 11s on it. If you change the strings be careful, this guitar has a floating bridge and if you remove the foam under it and/or change the strings it comes with, you will need to make sure the bridge goes back to the factory tuned position it came in. As the intonation will be out if you do change the bridge position.

I moved mine slightly while changing the strings (more of that in a bit) and so once tuned to concert pitch I gradually adjusted firstly the main bridge and then the individual adjustable bridge pieces for each string, checking note accuracy with a good quality chromatic tuner as I did so. Once I’d done that I marked the bridge position, something which may have invalidated my warranty, but which makes future string replacement a doddle compared to this occasion.

All you need do is compare accuracy on individual strings with your opened but tuned note, then at the 12th fret position (pinging the harmonic helps this too) and then with a chromatic tuner above that if you feel it neccesary. It follows that a higher pitch than is desired requires you to lengthen (though only minimally) the scale length of the string, or in the opposite case, shorten it.

Once the main bridge is as close as possible to the correct position, you can use the fine bridge adjustment to acheive a really accurate result. I worked this out, and it’s logical, but, if you need, there are step by step guides of how to do this online I’ve since discovered. You can also find some set up guides on You Tube, which are handy.

Advice on string change

Don’t take all the strings off at once!!

This will leave the bridge to urrr… fall off. I did not do this, luckily someone in the store said not to, so I changed each string one by one.

String changing on this type of guitar and with this Tremelo design is a pain in the arse. This is mainly because each string loops round a post on the underside of the tremolo and unless tension is maintained … it pings off. It took a short swearing session to bring about a practical solution. USE YOUR CAPO TO HOLD THE STRING on the fretboard once it’s on the post, this will keep it there while you measure out and clip the string to wind on the tuning head. Wind it on, and once there is enough tension in it, take the Capo off and the string won’t come off the post at the bottom behind the bridge. If you don’t do this, find another way, or you will murder your best friend through frustration. It’s a down side to be honest, surely there’s a little practicle and cheap way to overcome this design flaw?

Just as a heads up Stewart McDonald do a piece of kit called a Vibramate Spoiler that can help you re-string easier. Check out the link. I don’t know if this affects the tone, as the strings don’t on use of it wrap round the tremelo fully, but it’s worth a go if you find it hard to re-string. I for one will stick with my own little workround of the problem for the sake of an entirely imagined tonal benefit.

Ideas.. and set-up

…currently to string up with flatwound heavy gauge strings for that mid rangey plunky and smoother sounds for picking and chording respectively, good for that 40s and 50s R&B and the hick-town chunk that is truest rockabilly guitar.. (*see bottom of article for update)

017Set up

I’ve lowered the action a little more just by lowering the bridge a tickle more and it’s good, rings true and slick, the neck seems to be taking the heavier gauge strings well and there is no need for truss rod shenanigans .. yet.. I’ll keep an eye out to see if there’s any movement over time, but to be honest it shouldn’t move too much as the Rockabilly style of guitar tradition, (as it’s often finger and flat picked in development of a steel strung 6 string acoustic) calls on a heavier gauge and if their axe is designed properly for the purpose it appears to be built for, it shouldn’t ‘mal-function’.

I’ve also raised the front pick up’s ‘pole-pieces’ which sit under the 6th string to hopefully give it some extra ‘twang’ in it’s proximity to the string. As it was slightly lacking in this when playing. I’ve yet to make a decision on shifting any of the other pick up’s set up as the sound so far works well and pleases my ear. I might experiment later.

Strangely I’ve noticed that even with the floating bridge in the correct position the rear pickup does not line up correctly with the strings! This is concerning, but it doesn’t seem to affect the sound of the guitar, so I’m not going to allow myself to fret (gettit!! fret… get it !!??).

Tonal controls

Not being used to this sort of guitar the tonal controls were exciting to me. There are independent volume controls for the two pick ups, one master volume control, and one master tone control. There are three pick up positions, back, middle and front, but with the independent volume controls I know I’m going to have fun when I get to find the time to play about with it, and not just play on it.

Downside

Simple, so far and considering the overall price, market, build quality, niche, and all that ‘jazz’.. the tremolo is disappointing. Not for the sound it makes (for it is that classic 50s tremmie wang not the ear bending Little Stevie Vai variety, but the mellow vibrato of Cochran, or Eddy), but that the Trem takes the guitar way too far out of pitch if anything but the lightest indulgence in ‘Tremming’ features in your playing.

Oddly, the tremolo takes the guitar UP in pitch, not under, the first guitar I have ever experienced doing so. Now this may be because the bridge needs a little polishing by the strings’ movement before it releases a wound string properly (I’d be interested to know if the flatwounds might fare better in this regard), nevertheless, if you end a live tune with more than the lightest tremolo at its ceasing, be prepared to re-tune while you try to keep the audience engaged, and let’s face it talking, cracking a joke and re-tuning all at once is more than most multi-taskers can take alongside performance anxiety!

Advice

If you guitar tuning gets out of shape, and particularly if you notice it’s going up in pitch, then give the offending string a nice mild yank, and this should put it somewhere nearer pitch and in tune with the other strings I have discovered.

Gear

The tuning heads/tuners and gearing could be of a better quality overall, but the guitar holds pitch fairly well, though if you’ve left it 018in case for a couple of days expect to retune. Obviously it’s a less stable guitar overall than a good solid body. The volume knobs/tone controls could be of a better quality, to be fair you’re not sure if they are chromed metal or plastic, I’m still not sure.

The paint finish is good, purfling a little boring but suitable and what grain you can see is also very plain, being ply of some sort no doubt.

The fretboard is well made and adequate and what detailing there is, is simple but neatly done.

I don’t like having a plastic nut, I don’t even know what the material is that they’re using, but it seems less dense than the Ivory or Bone I’m used to, and I can’t help think that it may be dulling the tone somehow, probably not the case at all though, but only Gretsch know.

I also wish that the pick guard / scratch plate was more easily removable so I could adjust the front pick up more easily, though maybe I’ve just missed a trick somewhere..

And that’s about it..

Overall verdict 7.5 out of 10 for impression overall
9 out of 10 for value for money
10 out of 10 for falling in love with my first hollow body

… but watch out for that tremolo, it’s a bit of a problem, though perhaps it’ll settle in.

Update

I finally go round to purchasing that set of flatwounds. These started at a .11 and including a (flat) wound third.

The results are great, easier bass runs and audible results in the ‘sounds like it should’ category. Obviously a lot of those 50s cats were using flatwounds, because it kind of just completes the sound, particularly through a nice valve amp (I set mine literally down the middle on all EQ and don’t put too much gain on the signal either.

 

p.s. Looks like this has become one of the most popular Gretsch setup and floating bridge set up sites on the web! So please post your cures and headaches here, there are hundreds looking at this page every week.

24 thoughts on “Gretsch G5420T Electromatic, Set Up & Review”

  1. Hi,
    I just read and enjoyed your fine article.
    May I ask you a question?
    Do you experience any ringing of the wood around the upper f-hole when you play your guitar?
    I bought a G5420T saturday and I noticed this “ringing” after removing the foam under the bridge. Or should I let the bridge back into factory position now the foam is removed, as you explain? Will this resolve the ringing in your opinion?
    Thanks.
    Best regards,
    Christophe Calis

    1. Hi Chris, not quite sure from your description what you mean.
      But if I take a guess, you are saying that you are getting some vibration or buzzing around the upper f-hole now that you havve removed the foam?

      Firstly, removing the foam is absolutely the correct thing to do. Make sure your floating bridge is set back in the same position it was originally in, set the guitar back up, make sure it’s in tune, the intonation is right and it’s under the correct tension, which obviously is concert pitch for the guitar.

      If you are still getting a buzzing, or ringing, that is not right and you should probably take the guitar back for the store to check over.
      The only things I can imagine that could cause this would be that there is some strutting loose internally, or the perfling around the f-hole is not secured properly and has come loose.

      What I find odd is that you only noticed this problem after the foam was removed from the bridge.
      Any further info could help narrow this down.
      Hope that helps,

      Mike

      1. Hi,
        sorry for my late reply.
        thanks for your suggestion.
        I had it fixed in the shop. The seller is a wonderful guitar technician.
        I really love this guitar, it sounds wonderful and feels very comfortable.
        I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
        Keep on swinging.
        Best regards,
        c

    2. Hey Christophe,

      Just wondering what this guitar tech told you the problem was caused by?
      I’m experiencing the same thing and by the looks of it seems to be on the tune-o-matic type bridge. Did you notice what specif fix did the tech operate on the problem?

      1. Hi Kako,
        The ringing was caused by te bridge being slightly out of position (after removing the protection foam). The guitar tech brought it back into the right position, did a fine-tuning, and since then I don’t have the slightest problem with it. This is just a great sounding guitar. I took the tech about five minutes to fix it. I asked him how he knew where to place it. He said it’s a question of trial and error. But he got it right immediately. I have to say, he was very experienced, that type of guy that can adjust guitars blind folded. He advised me to go back to the shop about once a year, just for inspection of the bridge position and some fine-tuning.
        So, find a tech who has experience with this type of free floating bridges and enjoy this beautiful instrument.
        c

    3. I’M WORKING ON A G5420T RIGHT NOW WITH THIS PROBLEM. iT IS A NEWER MODEL WITH PINNED BRIDGE. I NOTICED THE BOTTOM CURVATURE OF THE BRIDGE DOES NOT MATCH THE CURVE OF THE GUITAR AND WHEN I PRESS DOWN ON THE BRIDGE ENDS THE RATTLE GOES AWAY. I’M GOING TO TRY SANDING THE BRIDGE BOTTOMS TO FIT THE CURVE OF THE GTR. i’M HOPING THAT WORKS.

  2. Ah yes… I discovered the restring PING and the OMG THE DANG BRIDGE JUST FELL OFF O_O part of this procedure the hard way =)

    Other than that I wake up in the morning with the guitar laying next to me 😛 I’m in love. Actually I always wanted one, am getting older etc so thought if I don’t get it now even if UPS does deliver to cemetery ima thinkin’ a signature would be out of the question o.o

    I got it, took it out of the shipping box and thought ‘meh’. After inventing various new combinations of cuss words (otherwise known as adjusting the neck, chasing a string or two across the room & recovering from the ‘why is the bridge on the floor’ syndromes) this thing sounds wonderful.

    Harmonics are gorgeous. All in all ima a happy puppy B^)

    ‘tween this and me FrankenTele Thinline (rather remarkable $550 throwed it together type thingie) plus a somewhat odd Jackson rock axe type that was ‘interesting’ to put together from pieces (free for me, tho I feel bad for me guitar tech that assembled those particular pieces – didn’t realize the neck & body were two different models w/different scale lengths. I bleeb the term Neck Pocket Modifying Fun can apply to that one… heh) I’m happy as a pile of poo in a peanut factory these days 8^)

  3. Wait I minute – ringing up – by the. Try muting the strings with the left hand a running your thumb across the strings (or pluck one, whatever). You can create a ‘ringing’ wound with the strings deadened which is the string sounding between the bridge and the trem unit. That’s the only ringing I could create after plucking pulling n’ strumming all over the bludy thing 😛

  4. I fixed everything. No tuning problems, whammy weirdness, intonation oddities. Bleedin’ thing is now everything it should be 🙂

  5. Hey dude, thanks for posting this!

    I’ve just recently and finally got a hold of mine G5420T as well, and let me tell you.. it might have been that Aspen Green you left at GAK as that’s where a got mine from (small world!). Well, at least the one I got sounded great, and I couldn’t look elsewhere when seeing that Aspen Green color (I know, it’s taste really.. same thing with the LP’s Silver burst, I for one love it, but know it’s not common taste/sense).

    The only thing in mine is the buzz, same one I believe “Christophe Calis” was trying to describe with the F-hole buzz. Not sure you guys are still experiencing this. Looking around the web, it seems to be a very (too much) common problem with this “cheap” tune-o-matic type bridges, particularly with the saddles/screws having not enough tension (being too loose) hence the “buzz-static” sound created by it.
    I think I have an idea on how to fix it but would like to hear if you guys have any suggestions. Btw, Christophe, I was curious to know what that guitar tech told you that ‘ringing’ problem was caused by?

    Cheers everyone!

  6. This ringing. Could it be the strings resonating between the bridge and the trem? Try playing while muting this section of the strings with your right hand. If this “cures” the problem all you need do is thread a piece of foam through the offending strings to permanently mute?

    1. Don’t use foam use wool felt. Violin guys have been doing that for years, umm, centuries. Don’t use polyester use real wool.

      And, mine plays great! Too cool, daddy-O! Train kept-a-rollin’ all night long!

      I use 11-50’s flat wound and stay in tune until the weather changes.

  7. Interesting review and though encouraging and informative regarding the bridge I also have a string ‘ringing’ problem on my G5420T which does disappear if the strings are dampened between bridge and Trem but not the best fix as it ruins the sonic ambience of the guitar. That though is not my biggest issue – FEEDBACK! there I said it, valve or Tranny makes no difference and not by any stretch at high volume using overdrive, just living room level – I cannot stop the low end boom when holding down any chord for more that a nats second. Consequently, my lovely local music shop dealer has offered me an upgrade to the G5620T-CB or even the G5622T-CB which I am sorely tempted to go for, both of which are made for higher level guitar work and should suit me well as a former Gibson 345 user. Will let you guys know how I get on 🙂

    1. I’ve played this at high volume in a number of rooms, and have had no problems with feedback ever (unless I wanted it!), the ringing does seem to be an issue though , keeps on cropping up. I’ve not suffered it. Comments appreciated.

  8. Excellent review of a great guitar but you should know that actaully ALL of the 50s cats were using flatwounds, ‘cos roundwounds weren’t available ‘tl around 1962!

  9. I have had my G5420T for almost a week. Two problems so far. Strings were rattling on the frets after a couple of days. I think it’s probably due to the humidity in my house (Florida) as opposed to the very top rack in the store where it lived for a while. After some effort I located a tiny allen wrench that fits the bridge. After a small adjustment, I got it to where I wanted except for the A string which need a bit more work. I’ll come back later with some more comments. Florida Pete.

  10. Next problem is that since there is only 1 master tone control on the guitar, you have to strike a balance when you are ready to play. But, on my guitar if I roll the tone all the way to the bass direction the guitar cuts off the bridge pickup entirely. This is a an annoyance at best, so, I am going back to the store where there is another 5420 on the rack to see if that one does the same thing. I’ll just do an exchange if my guitar is defective. The only problem is that I chose the whit/gold color and the other one in the store is orange/chrome. Any body else have this problem? Pete.

  11. By the way, mine and the newer models of Gretsch hollowbody Electromatic guitars have “pinned” bridges from the factory. This started recently, 2014 I think. This should eliminate a lot of the re-stringing problems. Pete

  12. I bought a G5420T a few weeks back. I love the guitar but there were some tuning issues out of the box. I have had the nut replaced and the intonation set correctly and now she sings like a bird. Fabulous guitar. I love it. As intros to the Gretsch brand go, you could do worse than buy a G5420T. Just get it set up first.

  13. I have a 5420T, the updated version with the plastic pickup surrounds and the fixed bridge. I liked the fixed bridge because I like to clip off all the strings during a string change so I can polish the frets and oil the fretboard. I marvel at the construction it’s just made so well, a lot of value for the money. Mine came thru with 11s which way too heavy for me so I switched to Gibson vintage 10 gauge. It plays great.

  14. Hi I also have this guitar and love it, but it sounded awful initially, until my friend helped set it up. So if you are not happy with the sound or the action, get a guitar tech to work on it for you – 😎

Leave a Reply

